No. There are no marijuana dispensaries in Midland. Texas has a state-wide marijuana prohibition; hence Midland does not allow the sale of marijuana. No organization or person may be granted a state license or Midland permit to sell a banned substance under the Texas Controlled Substances Act.
No. Although qualified Midland citizens are permitted to possess low-THC cannabis, the city has no dispensaries selling medical cannabis or medical cannabis products.
No. There are no online or physical weed dispensaries in Midland.
There are no marijuana dispensaries located in Midland. You can therefore not visit one in the city. To enable qualified patients to receive low-THC cannabis product orders, temporary medical cannabis prescription pick-up facilities may be set up in the city. You need a government-issued ID, your prescription for low-THC cannabis, and cash for payment to pick up your orders if such a facility is erected in the city.
In Midland, there are no cannabis establishments selling medical or recreational marijuana. However, Texas-approved dispensaries are authorized to sell medicinal cannabis exclusively to persons with legitimate medical cannabis prescriptions and may operate mobile or temporary prescription pickup locations in Midland. If such a facility is located in Midland, it must comply with state law requiring dispensaries to sell no more than the amounts of cannabis stated on low-THC cannabis prescriptions to those named on the prescriptions. Also, dispensaries may only sell medical marijuana containing no more than 1% THC. Buyers and non-buyers may not be allowed to consume cannabis on the grounds of prescription pick up sites.
Section 12.22 of the Texas Penal Code decriminalizes the possession of small quantities of marijuana in Midland and other Texas jurisdictions. The Texas Code defines small amounts to include quantities of cannabis not above 4 ounces. Still, decriminalization has not made possession of marijuana (over 0.3% THC by weight) not recommended by a registered doctor for an approved condition in Texas legal. Possessing any amount of cannabis is still illegal. Residents of Midland may be charged with a misdemeanor under the Texas Penal Code if they are discovered in possession of four ounces or less of marijuana. Possession of less than 2 ounces of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor, while possession of 2-4 ounces is a Class B misdemeanor. A Class B misdemeanor attracts a potential sentence of up to 180 days in jail, a $2,000 fine, or both. Generally, the punishment for marijuana possession depends on the following:
How much marijuana was found in possession of the arrestee
The intended purpose of having the quantity of marijuana found in the arrestee’s possession. That is, whether the amount caught with the arrestee is intended for sale, possession, or cultivation
Whether or not the arrestee has been previously charged with a crime
Driving while intoxicated with cannabis is still illegal in Midland despite decriminalizing small quantities of the drug. Persons caught impaired due to cannabis while operating a motor vehicle in Midland risk DUI charges.
In the City of Midland, marijuana is subject to strict laws, and only medicinal uses of the drug and its products are permitted. Patients in Midland of any age who have a qualifying illness and have been approved by licensed Texas doctors are authorized to consume medicinal marijuana (Low-THC) legally. Per Chapter 169 of the Texas Occupations Code, low-THC cannabis refers to a cannabis plant or derivative of the plant containing a low concentration (no more than 1%) of THC by weight.
Medical cannabis legalization in Midland does not imply unlimited access to medical cannabis and medical cannabis products. Patients are still restricted by the amounts stated on the medical cannabis prescriptions issued by their healthcare providers. Although there are no specific regulations under the Texas Compassionate Use Act requiring patients to be 18 before they may purchase medical marijuana by themselves, individuals under 18 may still need the assistance of their parents and legal guardians to purchase medical cannabis.
A patient must first sign up with the Texas Compassionate Use Registry (CURT) in order to purchase medical marijuana in Midland. The Texas Compassionate Use Program (TCUP) established the CURT to ensure qualified patients have access to the correct doses of medical marijuana.
Due to the TCUP's non-recognition of medical marijuana cards issued in other jurisdictions, visitors to Midland cannot purchase medical cannabis in Midland or other Texas locations. Also, the Texas Compassionate Use Act does not provide legal protection for employees who use cannabis for medicinal purposes. Therefore, Midland business owners may terminate or discipline workers who use medical marijuana at work or off the job. Public use of medicinal marijuana is prohibited, as is driving while under the influence. Patients in Midland who use medical marijuana are not allowed to grow cannabis at home.
Since Texas does not issue medical marijuana cards under its Compassionate Use Program, Midland residents cannot obtain medical marijuana cards. Texas does not require medical marijuana patients in its jurisdictions to get medical marijuana cards to access medical marijuana. Only the medical marijuana prescription issued after completing registration in the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) is required to access medical marijuana.
Provided they have one or more qualifying ailments and reside in Midland, Midland residents of any age can register in the CURT and obtain medicinal cannabis. The following medical conditions are approved for medical cannabis under the TCUP:
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
Incurable neurodegenerative diseases
Only medical professionals listed on the Texas Department of Public Safety’s register of state-approved healthcare providers are authorized to issue prescriptions for medicinal cannabis. At your consultation with the healthcare provider, the physician will verify and attest that the benefits of using medical cannabis to treat your condition outweigh the hazards before entering your information into the CURT. The certifying physician may charge you for the consultation, although the state does not impose a fee to be included in the CURT. The qualified physician will enter your data in the cannabis registry and also add a medical cannabis prescription for you. Your certifying physician will also include the information of your legal guardian or caregiver in the CURT if you are under the age of 18.
You will need to present an acceptable government-issued ID along with the medical cannabis prescription to pick up your order from a prescription pick-up site or when receiving a medical cannabis delivery. If your parent or guardian is picking up your prescription, the individual will also be required to provide an acceptable ID.
Marijuana use for recreational purposes is prohibited in Midland. Therefore, it is forbidden to use cannabis recreationally in the city. If enrolled in the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas, you can use medical cannabis within private residences and on private property.
As there are no dispensaries selling cannabis for recreational use in Midland, you cannot buy it there. You may purchase medical cannabis online but not from dispensaries located in Midland. If you order medical cannabis online, you must have a valid government-issued ID and your medical cannabis prescription ready.
Although there are no dispensaries in Midland, patients who buy medical marijuana online from Texas-approved dispensaries typically pay approximately $90 for 3:1 and 1:1 balanced tinctures.
Cannabis strains typically contain high levels of THC, the psychoactive compound in cannabis. However, Texas law prohibits the sale of cannabis products containing high levels of THC in Midland. Only low-THC strains, often derived from hemp, are available to medical marijuana users in the city. Medical cannabis products sold to Midland patients do not contain THC concentrations above 1%.
No. Marijuana use in any form in public is not permitted in Midland.
Patients registered in the CURT are only permitted to possess the amount of cannabis stated on the prescriptions issued by their healthcare providers under the Texas Compassionate Use Program.
No. Cannabis may not be transported over state lines as the drug is classified as a controlled substance under federal and state law. Even if you intend to use cannabis for medical reasons, crossing state boundaries with the substance is illegal and punishable by harsh penalties.
Since there are no marijuana dispensaries in Midland, it is not possible to order marijuana from Midland dispensaries online. But if you have signed up for the CURT, you may order low-THC cannabis online from any of Texas' legal dispensaries.
No. There are no 24-hour dispensaries in the City of Midland.
No. There are no dispensaries in Midland open for use by tourists.
While there are no dispensaries in the city, you need a valid government-issued medical ID card and a low-THC cannabis prescription to pick up your low-THC cannabis order at a mobile or temporary prescription pick-up site.
There are no dispensaries in the city.
While there are no permanent dispensaries in Midland, authorized businesses permitted to set up temporary prescription pick-up locations or run mobile drive-throughs in the city will scan your ID. Before you may pick up your medical cannabis order, such facilities must ensure that only approved persons are purchasing medical cannabis. To do so, employees of such facilities will scan their customers’ IDs prior to purchases.
There are no weed dispensaries in Midland.
While you cannot find dispensaries in Midland, approved retailers selling medical cannabis to Midland residents do not allow customers to pay with credit cards when buying low-THC cannabis. Cash is the required form of payment.
You cannot visit a dispensary in Midland as there are no dispensaries in the city. However, if you order cannabis online from multiple approved vendors, you can visit their pickup sites on the same day. Hence, there are no restrictions on the number of prescription pickup sites you may visit in one day. Regardless of the number of dispensaries visited in one day, you cannot buy more than the amounts of cannabis stipulated by your low-THC cannabis prescription.
There are no marijuana dispensaries in Midland. However, Texas businesses that allow Midland patients to purchase cannabis online do not accept health insurance. Because federal law deems cannabis to have no medically proven benefits, health insurance does not cover low-THC cannabis purchases.
Texas dispensaries use the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas to track cannabis sales by authorized buyers. Although no dispensaries are located within Midland, dispensaries selling medical marijuana to Midland patients use the CURT to track purchases.
Midland has no legal cannabis dispensary to buy marijuana for recreational purposes. However, you can go to a temporary prescription pick-up location when one is open in the city, provided you are at least 18 years old and registered with the CURT. Midland minors who are registered medical marijuana patients may require help from authorized caregivers, such as parents and caregivers, in order to pick up low-THC cannabis orders from a mobile or temporary prescription pickup site.
The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) oversees marijuana-related activities in Midland. The address of the Texas DPS is:
Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 North Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78752-4431
The DPS mailing address is:
PO Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0001
You may report illegal cannabis operations in Midland to the Texas Department of Safety or the Midland Police Department by calling the police department at (432) 685-7108 or using the submit a tip tool on the website of the PD. To file a report to the Texas Department of Safety, contact the Department's Criminal Investigations Division (CID) by calling (844) 643-2251.