No. There are no recreational cannabis dispensaries in Frisco. The State of Texas prohibits the possession and sale of recreational cannabis in all cities and municipalities.
There are no permanent medical marijuana dispensaries in Frisco. To obtain medical cannabis, you can purchase cannabis online from one of the three approved dispensaries (Texas Original) and visit the business pickup location in the city to obtain your order.
You cannot order adult-use cannabis online in Frisco. However, you may order medical cannabis online and pick up your order in-store in the city.
There are no legal recreational cannabis dispensaries in the City of Frisco. However, you may fill your medical marijuana prescriptions at temporary pickup sites in the city. You must visit the pickup sites with your government-issued identity card and prescription.
Frisco has no dispensary legislation since adult-use cannabis dispensaries are prohibited in the city. Medical marijuana must verify the registrations of medical cannabis buyers in the Texas Compassionate Use Registry (CURT) and only sell within the permitted possession limits to qualified buyers.
In accordance with state legislation, the use of cannabis for recreational purposes is prohibited in the City of Frisco. It remains a crime to possess cannabis containing more than 0.3% THC by weight not prescribed by a Texas-license doctor for an approved condition in the state. Although the passage of Texas HB 3703 in 2019 expanded access to medical marijuana for qualified individuals, it did not alter state laws related to the recreational use of cannabis.
The possession of up to two ounces of marijuana is considered a Class B misdemeanor, which may result in a fine of up to $2,000, up to six months imprisonment, or both. There is a potential penalty of up to five years imprisonment for possessing cannabis concentrates such as hash oil. When in possession of between two and four ounces of cannabis, a person may face up to one year of imprisonment, a $4,000 fine, or both of these penalties.
The Texas Compassionate Use Act (CUA) is the legislation governing medical marijuana use and the activities associated with medical cannabis in the City of Frisco. Chapter 169 of the Texas Occupations Code allows certified doctors to prescribe low-THC cannabis to individuals with specific medical conditions. This provision was made possible as part of the Texas Compassionate Use Program, which was created under the CUA. Cannabis sativa L., as well as any portion of the plant or any compound, derivative, combination, preparation, resin, or oil derived from the plant that contains up to 1% by weight of tetrahydrocannabinol, is referred to as low-THC cannabis. Tetrahydrocannabinol is the psychoactive component of marijuana.
At its inception, the Compassionate Use Program (CUP) was targeted mainly at patients who had intractable epilepsy. The program stipulated that the cannabis products available to such patients should not contain more than 0.5% THC and must have a CBD-to-THC ratio of at least 20-to-1. Since the CUP's inception, the list of conditions that qualify for medical marijuana in Texas has been expanded to include conditions such as Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy (CTE), autism, terminal cancer, and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis. Patients with one of the conditions listed in Section 169.003 of the Texas Occupations Code are now eligible to participate in this program. It is against the law in Frisco to smoke items with a low THC content. On the other hand, patients are only allowed to access tinctures, edibles, and topicals as treatment options.
A certification from a doctor stating that you suffer from at least one of the state's qualifying conditions is required to purchase and possess low-THC products legally. After obtaining the certification, the medical professional will add your information to the Texas Compassionate Use Registry (CURT). It is against the law to consume medicinal marijuana products at the site where they are dispensed, in public, or on grounds or buildings owned by the federal government.
Unlike other states in the United States, which have medical marijuana programs, Texas does not issue medical marijuana cards to persons suffering from debilitating health conditions in order to obtain medical cannabis. Still, the state requires that residents only access low-THC cannabis upon completing registration in the CURT (Compassionate Use Registry of Texas).
To be enrolled in the CURT in Frisco, you must meet the following:
Be a permanent resident of the City of Frisco or another Texas jurisdiction
Obtain a low-THC cannabis use certification from a healthcare professional certified under the CUP (Compassionate Use Program). The certification must affirm that you suffer from any of the following:
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
Note that your certifying physician is obligated to submit your medical cannabis prescription and, as a result, complete your CURT registration. After completing the CURT registration process and obtaining a prescription for low-THC cannabis, you can fill your prescription by placing an online order for low-THC cannabis. Even though you are not required to be at least 18 years old in order to enroll in the CURT or to obtain a medical marijuana prescription from a qualified healthcare practitioner, if you are under the age of 18, you may still need the assistance of your parents or a legal guardian in order to enroll in the CURT.
Cannabis use for recreational purposes is unlawful in Frisco. Medical cannabis use, while legal, is not permitted in public. Consumption of low-THC cannabis is allowed in private residences.
You cannot purchase recreational cannabis legally in Frisco. However, you may buy low-THC cannabis products online and pick them up at a dispensing facility in the city.
Total medical marijuana costs in Frisco depend on individuals' medical cannabis prescription details. A 1:1 balanced lozenge costs about $75; a 1:1 balanced tincture costs $100; a 3:1 balanced tincture costs about $90, while a 20:1 high-CBD tincture costs about 200.
Only low-THC cannabis products are allowed to be sold in Frisco, in contrast to other states where residents are permitted to buy cannabis strains with high levels of THC concentration. The low-THC products sold in Frisco and other Texas jurisdictions are not allowed to have a THC concentration higher than 1%. As a result, the majority of medicinal marijuana products available for purchase in Frisco are primarily produced from hemp.
No, it is unlawful to smoke cannabis in public in Frisco.
Due to the restrictions placed on cannabis at the state level in Texas, possessing cannabis is against the law in Frisco. Patients who have been issued legal prescriptions for medical marijuana are, however, permitted to possess low-THC cannabis products. In line with this permission, their attending physicians are mandated to establish their possession limits and include such limits on their prescriptions.
No, shipping cannabis in or out of Frisco across state lines is prohibited, as cannabis shipment across state borders is illegal and punished severely under federal law. If you are a medical cannabis patient, keeping your prescription information with you when moving between Texas Jurisdictions is recommended. Note that even with a medical cannabis prescription, it is illegal to move or ship cannabis across state lines.
You cannot order adult-use weed online in Frisco. However, if you are a registered patient in Frisco, you may order low-THC cannabis online.
No. Only dispensing organizations selling low-THC cannabis are permitted to operate in the city. Such facilities do not open for 24 hours and only presently offer temporary pickup sites.
Since recreational marijuana retail stores are illegal in Frisco, the city does not have any facilities where adults may legally purchase cannabis for recreational uses. While low-THC cannabis dispensing organizations may operate in the city, access to them is restricted to residents of Frisco or the State of Texas.
Because cannabis use for recreational purposes is illegal in Texas, neither residents of Frisco nor visitors can access adult-use cannabis in the city. However, if you provide a valid ID, a prescription from your doctor, and proof that you are registered in the CURT, you will be able to pick up your low-THC cannabis order at a dispensing site in the city.
There are no recreational cannabis dispensaries in the City of Frisco. However, Texas Original Compassionate Cultivation allows Frisco residents to order medical cannabis online and pick it up at its dispensing location. You can find the address of the business’ pickup site using the online search term "cannabis dispensaries near me."
When you visit a medical marijuana dispensing site in Frisco, a facility employee will scan your identification to verify your identity and CURT registration.
No dispensaries are permitted to sell recreational marijuana in Frisco. Statewide, only three organizations are authorized to provide medicinal marijuana to Texas residents. Of those three organizations, only one (Texas Original Compassionate Cultivation) has a pickup location in Frisco.
Typically, Frisco medical marijuana dispensing facilities do not take credit cards. Usually, cannabis transactions are completed using cash or debit cards. You may be able to pay using AeroPay and CanPay when buying from Texas Original Compassionate Cultivation.
There is only one dispensing facility operating legally in Frisco. When multiple dispensing facilities exist in the city, you may visit more than one of such sites a day to pick up your orders. However, you will not be able to buy more low-THC cannabis than the limit stated on your medical cannabis prescription.
No dispensaries in Frisco are licensed to sell marijuana for recreational use. Patients in Frisco enrolled in the CURT are permitted to purchase low-THC cannabis; however, their health insurance policies do not cover the cost of purchasing low-THC cannabis products. The operations of health insurance businesses are regulated by federal law, which classifies cannabis as a prohibited drug. This classification makes cannabis illegal for health insurance companies to cover. However, Texas Original makes it possible for its customers to make purchases of low-THC cannabis using funds from their HSA or FSA accounts. Low-THC cannabis buyers who complete their purchases by providing their linked PINs and cards can receive reimbursement receipts.
Medical marijuana dispensaries use the CURT to track customers' purchases.
Frisco has no approved recreational cannabis dispensary. However, if you are 18 or older and are enrolled in the CURT, you may visit a medical marijuana prescription pickup site in the city.
Cannabis activities in the City of Frisco and the rest of Texas are administered by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). The headquarters of the Texas Department of Public Safety is located at:
Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 North Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78752-4431
The DPS mailing address is:
PO Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0001
You may report illicit cannabis operations in Frisco to the Texas Department of Safety or the Frisco Police Department by calling the police department at (972) 292-6010. To contact the Texas Department of Safety, you may reach its Criminal Investigations Division by calling (844) 643-2251, reporting through the iwatchtx.org web app, or via the iWatchtx iOS or Android app