No. Marijuana is banned in Texas and is therefore not sold legally in Mesquite. Due to marijuana’s status as a controlled drug under the Controlled Substances Act, no business in Mesquite is authorized to sell it.
No. Although the Texas Compassionate Use Act legalized the use of low-THC cannabis for qualifying patients, no cannabis establishments exist in Mesquite selling low-THC cannabis products to residents.
There are currently no marijuana dispensaries in Mesquite. However, if you need access to medicinal marijuana in the city, you may place an order with a Texas dispensary that ships to Mesquite. In other cases, customers in Mesquite can have their orders delivered to a designated pick-up location or use the dispensaries' mobile sites.
Mesquite does not have any marijuana dispensaries. Temporary pick-up stations for medicinal marijuana are occasionally put up around the city, where you may fill your prescription if you are a medical cannabis patient. Note that you will need a valid government-issued ID, a prescription for low-THC cannabis, and cash to pick up your purchases.
Mesquite does not have any legal marijuana dispensaries. Only dispensing organizations with valid permits under the Texas Compassionate Use Act may set up pick-up locations and mobile dispensaries in the city. Dispensaries must limit sales to persons registered in the Texas Compassionate Use Registry (CURT). In addition, dispensaries cannot sell more than the medical cannabis quantities identified on patients’ medicinal marijuana prescriptions.
Section 12.22 of the Texas Penal Code decriminalizes the possession of small amounts of cannabis in Mesquite. Still, cannabis possession of any amount is an offense. Pursuant to the Texas Code, possessing up to four ounces of cannabis is considered a misdemeanor. Possessing up to 2 ounces is a Class A misdemeanor while possessing between two and four ounces is a Class B misdemeanor. Persons guilty of Class B misdemeanor may be punished by a fine of up to $2,000, 180 days in jail, or both. Note that driving while under the influence of cannabis is illegal and attracts a DUI charge.
The City of Mesquite strictly regulates marijuana, allowing use only for medicinal purposes. Use for recreation is illegal and carries severe penalties. Patients of any age in Mesquite who have been diagnosed with a qualifying condition and certified by approved Texas physicians may legally use medicinal marijuana under the Texas Compassionate Use Program (TCUP). Though medicinal marijuana use is now permitted in Mesquite and Texas, the state still has the final say on how much may be obtained by each patient. Under TCUP, Mesquite patients can only get as much medical cannabis as is allowed by their certifying physicians through medical cannabis prescriptions. The TCUP allows registered patients over the age of 18 in Mesquite to purchase medical cannabis by themselves. At the same time, minors may access medical cannabis with the help of their parents or guardians.
Access to medical cannabis in Mesquite is contingent on enrolling in the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT). The Texas Compassionate Use Program (TCUP) established the CURT to ensure qualified patients can access the right medicinal marijuana dosages. To participate in the Compassionate Use registry Texas program (CURT), patients must be legal residents of Texas.
The TCUP does not recognize medical marijuana cards from other states. Therefore, out-of-state visitors cannot buy medical cannabis in the city even if they possess medical marijuana cards from the medical marijuana programs in their jurisdictions.
Employees who use cannabis for medicinal purposes are not protected under the Texas Compassionate Use Act. The Texas medical cannabis law does not restrain Mesquite business owners from disciplining or terminating employees for medicinal cannabis use on or off the job. It is against the law to use medical cannabis in public and to operate a motor vehicle while under its influence. Mesquite medical cannabis laws prohibit medical cannabis patients from growing cannabis plants at home. The law also exempts medical cannabis purchases from sales tax.
Neither Mesquite nor the State of Texas provides citizens with medicinal marijuana cards. Patients in Mesquite who meet the state's criteria can lawfully purchase medicinal cannabis from licensed dispensaries after registering with the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) and obtaining a valid prescription.
Patients of any age are allowed to seek treatment with medical cannabis so long as they meet the following requirements: they have one or more approved conditions and permanently reside in Mesquite or other Texas locations. According to the Texas Compassionate Use Program (TCUP), these medical conditions qualify for cannabis use:
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
Incurable neurodegenerative diseases
Only doctors on the list of state-approved healthcare providers maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety can legally prescribe medicinal cannabis under the TCUP. Before the physician may include your data in the CURT, the practitioner will confirm that the benefits of medicinal cannabis use in treating your condition exceed the risks. While there is no state-imposed fee for your CURT registration, the certifying physician may charge a fee for the consultation. After including your information in the registry, the certified physician will enter a medical prescription for you in the CURT.
When you want to receive your order at a dispensing location or your physical address, identification with your full name, age, and the last five digits of your Social Security number will be required. If you are under 18 and have a legal guardian, your certifying doctor will also include the name of your legal guardian or caregiver in the CURT. The guardian is also required to provide identification at the dispensary.
Recreational cannabis use is illegal in Mesquite. Hence, it is illegal to consume it in all locations in the city. Medicinal cannabis use is legal and permitted in private residences and properties. Persons using medical cannabis may not consume it in public.
In Mesquite, recreational cannabis purchases and sales are illegal. While no medical cannabis dispensaries exist in the city, you can buy low-THC cannabis products online from any of Texas’ approved dispensaries. You must have an ID and valid medical cannabis prescription ready to receive your order.
While there are no dispensaries in the city, medical cannabis patients in the city typically pay the following prices for low-THC products ordered online from Texas-approved dispensaries:
1:1 balanced tincture: $95
1:1 balanced gummies: $85 (30-count)
3:1 balanced tincture: $80
20:1 high-CBD tincture: $190
Mesquite does not have a market for high-THC cannabis products. State legislation prohibits using cannabis for any purpose other than medical, and THC products with more than 1% concentrations are illegal. So, you cannot find popular weed strains like Gorilla Glue, Purple, Kush, Blue Dream, and AK 47 are not on the shelves in Mesquite.
No, it is illegal to smoke weed in public in Mesquite. The city bans recreational marijuana consumption in all its forms. Medical cannabis use is legal but only as capsules, edibles, and topicals.
Patients in Mesquite registered in the CURT are restricted to the amount of low-THC cannabis specified on their prescriptions. Under the Texas Compassionate Use Act, no minimum or maximum possession limits exist.
No. The transportation of cannabis over state lines is against the law since it violates federal law. Marijuana is classified as a controlled substance under federal and state law, and the shipping of the drug is prohibited. Whether you use cannabis for recreational or medical purposes, transporting it over state boundaries is a serious felony that can result in severe punishments.
You cannot order adult-use weed online in Mesquite, as there are no dispensaries in the city. However, if registered in the CURT, you can order low-THC cannabis online from any of Texas’ approved dispensaries.
No. There are no 24-hour dispensaries in Mesquite.
No. Tourists cannot use dispensaries in Mesquite as there are no dispensaries in the city.
There are no dispensaries in the city. However, Mesquite patients registered for medical cannabis will need a valid government-issued ID when visiting a prescription pick-up site to pick up their orders. The same will be required for persons who order their medical cannabis products online.
There are no dispensaries in Mesquite. However, pickup locations may open up in the city by any of Texas’ approved dispensaries. The approved low-THC cannabis dispensing organizations in the city are Texas Compassionate Cultivation, Goodblend, and Fluent. To find addresses of prescription pick-up sites in the city, put the phrase "medical marijuana dispensaries near me" in a search engine online.
There are no permanent dispensaries in Mesquite. However, authorized Texas dispensaries sometimes set up temporary dispensing sites in the city. These sites scan customers' IDs to ensure buyers are registered in the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas.
There are no marijuana dispensaries in Mesquite. Only the three organizations approved to sell medicinal marijuana to CURT-registered medical cannabis patients in Texas sell medical cannabis online to Mesquite patients. None of the three dispensaries are located in the city.
Cannabis dispensaries selling low-THC cannabis to Mesquite residents online do not permit buyers to complete purchases with credit cards. Cash is the preferred form of completing purchases.
You cannot go to a weed dispensary in Mesquite because no such cannabis businesses operate as permanent establishments in the city. However, you can visit multiple temporary pickup sites when such facilities operate in the city. No matter how many dispensaries you visit in a day, you cannot purchase higher amounts of medical cannabis or medical cannabis products than the amount stated on your medical marijuana prescription. Texas dispensaries are able to ensure no medical cannabis buyer exceeds the prescribed amount through the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas.
There are no dispensaries in Mesquite. However, dispensaries selling medical cannabis to Mesquite patients do not take health insurance. Cannabis is still illegal at the federal level, and the United States Drug Enforcement Administration lists it as a Schedule I drug. Without DEA and FDA (Food and Drug Administration) approval, health insurance companies cannot cover cannabis purchases on their plans.
Even though there are no dispensaries in the city, medical cannabis shops that sell low-THC cannabis to patients in the city use the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas to keep track of low-THC cannabis sales in accordance with Texas law. Texas requires dispensaries to use the CURT to ensure that CURT-registered patients do not buy more medical cannabis than is written on their medical cannabis prescriptions.
Mesquite does not have a legal dispensary where you may buy marijuana for recreational use. But if you are 18 or older and enrolled in the CURT, you can go to a city prescription pick-up site, if any. Residents under 18 may need help from their parents or legal guardians to buy or pick up medical marijuana.
Cannabis activities in Mesquite are supervised by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). The Texas DPS is located at:
Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 North Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78752-4431
The DPS mailing address is:
PO Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0001
You may report illegal cannabis operations in Mesquite to the Texas Department of Safety or the Mesquite Police Department by calling the police department at (972) 285-6336. To file a report to the Texas Department of Safety, contact the Department's Criminal Investigations Division by calling (844) 643-2251.