Marijuana Dispensaries in Richardson

Find Authorized Cannabis Stores Near You

Select a Distance
1 mi
2 mi
5 mi
10 mi
20 mi

Are there Marijuana Dispensaries in Richardson?

No. Recreational marijuana is not legally available in Richardson, as cannabis is considered a controlled substance under the Texas Controlled Substances Act. No Richardson business is approved to sell cannabis to locals or tourists.

Are there Medical Marijuana Dispensaries in Richardson?

No. Although the use of low-THC cannabis for medical purposes is legal for registered Richardson residents through the Texas Compassionate Use Registry, there are currently no businesses located in the city that sell medical cannabis products.

Can You Buy Cannabis from Online Weed Dispensaries in Richardson?

As a registered medical cannabis patient in Richardson, you can order low-THC cannabis online from Texas-approved dispensaries. However, these dispensaries are not located within the city limits of Richardson.

Visiting a Dispensary in Richardson

There are no marijuana dispensaries currently located in Richardson. However, if temporary prescription pick-up sites are set up in the city, residents may be able to visit them to fill their prescriptions. To do so, they must bring a government-issued ID, a prescription for low-THC cannabis, and cash to pay for their orders.

Richardson Dispensary Laws

There are currently no permanent locations in Richardson where medical cannabis is dispensed. However, temporary prescription sites may be set up in the city by one of the three authorized cannabis dispensaries in Texas. These sites are allowed to sell low-THC cannabis products to individuals with valid prescriptions for medical cannabis.

If a temporary dispensary site becomes available in Richardson, it must follow all Texas dispensary laws. This includes only selling cannabis products to individuals with valid medical cannabis prescriptions from qualified Texas healthcare practitioners and limiting the amount of cannabis products sold to the amount specified on the prescription. It is illegal to use cannabis on the premises of the dispensary site, and all sales must be recorded in the Texas Compassionate Use Registry.

Recreational Laws in Richardson

Richardson abides by Texas cannabis law which makes it illegal to possess or use cannabis for recreational purposes. Under Section 481.121 of the Texas Health and Safety Code, it is unlawful to possess any amount of marijuana in Richardson. Persons found to be in possession of marijuana may be charged with a criminal offense. The penalties for marijuana possession in Richardson vary depending on the amount of the substance involved and whether the offenders have prior drug convictions. If an individual is charged with possessing:

  • Two ounces or less, such a person may be convicted of a Class B misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 180 days in jail, a fine of up to $2,000, or both

  • More than two ounces but less than four ounces, such a person may be convicted of a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months imprisonment, a fine of up to $4,000, or both

  • Between four ounces and five pounds, such a person may be convicted of a third-degree felony, punishable by a jail sentence of two to ten years, a fine of up to $10,000, or both

Medical Cannabis Laws in Richardson

The Texas Compassionate Use Act, approved in 2015, is the statute governing medical cannabis use in the City of Richardson. Richardson residents who have qualifying medical conditions can legally use cannabis products with minimal levels of the psychoactive cannabinoid THC. Low-THC cannabis is defined as cannabis or cannabis derivative with 1% or less tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) by weight, as stated in Chapter 169 of the Texas Occupation Code.

Only Richardson residents with valid prescriptions for medicinal cannabis are permitted to buy low-THC cannabis products from any of the three cannabis dispensaries authorized to operate in Texas. These prescriptions must be for one of the qualifying medical illnesses detailed in the Act, such as epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, terminal cancer, and spasticity.

The Texas Compassionate Use Program (TCUP), which regulates the possession and use of low-THC cannabis products for medicinal purposes in Texas, does not allow dispensaries to accept medical marijuana cards from other states. As a result, visitors to Richardson are unable to purchase medical cannabis.

The Compassionate Consume Act in Texas does not provide any legal protection for employers that allow their workers to use medicinal marijuana. Due to this, companies in Richardson may discipline or terminate employees for medical cannabis use regardless of whether the use occurs in the workplace environment or outside of it. Note that it is illegal to use medical cannabis publicly or cultivate cannabis at home for medicinal uses.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Richardson

Unlike other states where medical marijuana is legalized, Richardson medical marijuana patients cannot obtain medical marijuana cards under the Texas Compassionate Use Program. Eligible Richardson Patients can access medical cannabis through the TCUP administered by the DPS by getting valid medical cannabis prescriptions from TCUP-approved physicians.

However, to get a valid medical cannabis prescription, you must reside permanently in a Texas location, have one of the approved conditions under the TCUP, and be registered with the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT). The certifying physicians complete CURT registrations for qualifying patients. To find an approved physician in Richardson certified to issue medical cannabis certifications, see the DPS list of approved healthcare providers. During your consultation with the physician, the practitioner will verify the benefits of using medical cannabis to treat your conditions outweighs the risks. The conditions for which the TCUP approves medical cannabis use in Texas are:

  • Spasticity

  • Multiple Sclerosis

  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder

  • Epilepsy

  • Autism

  • Cancer

  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis

  • Seizure disorders

  • Incurable Neurodegenerative diseases

After certifying that you are eligible for medical cannabis use, the certifying physician will add your information to the CURT and issue you a low-THC cannabis prescription. While the DPS does not mandate any fees for inclusion in the CURT, the certifying physician may charge a fee for the consultation.

You need the low-THC cannabis prescription and a photo ID card issued by the government containing your name, age, and part of your Social Security number in order to obtain delivery of your medical cannabis orders. If you are not yet 18 and have a legal guardian, your guardian's details will be added to the CURT. Persons under 18 may require the assistance of their guardians to complete their CURT registrations and administer low-THC cannabis.

Where is it Legal to Consume Cannabis in Richardson?

It violates state and local laws to use marijuana for recreational purposes in Richardson. On the other hand, the medicinal use of cannabis in private homes and properties is permitted, provided the user is registered with the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) and has a valid prescription for medical cannabis from a Texas-licensed physician.

How to Buy Cannabis at a Richardson Dispensary

It is not lawful to purchase cannabis in the City of Richardson since there are no cannabis dispensaries located in the city. If a Texas-approved dispensary sets up a temporary prescription fill-up site or mobile dispensary in the city, you will need to have a valid government-issued photo ID with your date of birth as well as a valid prescription for low-THC cannabis in order to complete your purchase. Try searching the internet with the keyword "cannabis dispensaries near me" to find out if there are currently any temporary dispensing facilities or mobile dispensing sites in your area.

The Average Price in Richardson

Since low-THC cannabis products sold in Richardson are typically made from hemp, you cannot find cannabis products such as those sold in other states with medical marijuana programs in Richardson. While there are no dispensaries located within Richardson, Richardson patients purchase low-THC products online from Texas-approved dispensaries. The following are typical prices for low-THC cannabis products:

  • 1:1 balanced tincture: $85

  • 30-count package of 1:1 balanced gummies: $85

  • 3:1 Balanced Tincture: $75

  • 20:1 High-CBD Tincture: $200

  • 0:1 THC-Only Tincture: $60

Most Popular Strains in Richardson

In accordance with Texas laws, the City of Richardson does not permit the sale of cannabis strains containing significant amounts of THC. The "high" associated with marijuana use is caused by a psychoactive component in cannabis known as THC. Hence, with only medical cannabis legalized in the city, cannabis products with high-THC levels are illegal. Therefore, strains like Kush OG, Fire OG, Gelato Glue, and Girl Scout Cookies are not sold in Richardson. City residents get to purchase products with high CBD content and low THC levels.

Can You Smoke in Public in Richardson?

No. The public smoking of cannabis, recreational or medical, in the City of Richardson is illegal. Public places include parks, banks, schools, and other areas where the public may be invited.

How Much Marijuana Can You Possess at Once in Richardson?

Patients who are enrolled in the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) and who have valid prescriptions for medical cannabis are restricted to the low-THC cannabis amounts that are specified on their prescriptions.

Can I Ship Cannabis in Richardson?

No. It is illegal to move cannabis across state boundaries in the United States. This is because transporting cannabis across state lines violates federal law, which considers marijuana a restricted substance. Under both federal and state law, it is strictly prohibited to ship marijuana for any purpose. Therefore, it is a criminal offense to transport marijuana across state lines, regardless of the reason.

Can I Order Cannabis Online in Richardson?

You are allowed to buy low-THC cannabis online from a state-approved dispensary if you are enrolled in the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) and have a valid prescription for medical cannabis from a licensed physician in Texas.

Are there 24-hour Dispensaries in Richardson?

No. There are no 24-hour dispensaries in Richardson.

Can Tourists Use Dispensaries in Richardson?

No. Richardson has no dispensaries; hence, tourists cannot use dispensaries in the city.

Do You Need ID for Dispensary in Richardson?

It is unlawful to purchase marijuana or other cannabis products at a retail store in Richardson. However, if temporary prescription pick-up sites are established in the city, or mobile cannabis tours are held there, you need valid government-issued identification and a low-THC cannabis prescription to pick up your order. This requirement is in place to ensure that only patients with valid prescriptions are able to obtain cannabis products from pick-up sites.

Best Dispensaries in Richardson

There are no dispensaries in Richardson.

Do Dispensaries Scan your ID in Richardson?

Richardson does not have any permanent dispensaries. On the other hand, potential temporary prescription pick-up stations or mobile dispensaries will scan your identification to confirm that you are enrolled with the Texas Compassionate Use Registry.

How Many Dispensaries are in Richardson?

There are no marijuana dispensaries located in the City of Richardson.

Can Dispensaries in Richardson Take Credit Cards?

While there are no dispensaries operating as permanent cannabis businesses in the city, Texas-approved dispensaries selling medical cannabis to Richardson residents do not accept credit cards.

How Many Dispensaries Can You Visit in One Day?

You cannot visit any permanent dispensaries in Richardson. However, if multiple temporary dispensing sites are set up in the city in the future, you may visit as many such sites as there are. The State or Richardson City Council does not prohibit residents from visiting more than one dispensary in a single day. Regardless of the number of dispensaries visited, you cannot obtain more low-THC cannabis products than is stipulated on your medical cannabis prescription.

Do Dispensaries in Richardson Take Health Insurance?

Dispensaries selling low-THC cannabis products to Richardson residents do not take health insurance. Residents may either pay cash when they receive their orders or use debit cards.

Do Dispensaries in Richardson Track How Much Weed You Buy?

Even though Richardson does not have dispensaries operating within its borders, Texas DPS-approved medical marijuana dispensaries selling low-THC marijuana to Richardson residents use the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas to keep track of cannabis purchases.

Can You Enter a Dispensary in Richardson at Age 18?

You cannot enter a Richardson dispensary as there are no permanent cannabis retail outlets in the city. However, residents visiting prescription pick-up sites that may be temporarily located in the city must be 18 or older. If you are under the age of 18, you may need the assistance of your legal guardian or carer.

Where Can I Find the Richardson Cannabis Regulator’s Contact Information?

Cannabis activities in Richardson are regulated by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). The Texas DPS is located at:

Texas Department of Public Safety

5805 North Lamar Blvd

Austin, TX 78752-4431

The Texas DPS mailing address is:

PO Box 4087

Austin, TX 78773-0001

How Do I Report Illegal Cannabis Activities in Richardson?

You may report illegal cannabis operations in Richardson to the Texas Department of Safety or the Richardson Police Department by calling the police department at (972) 744-4800. To file a report to the Texas Department of Safety, contact the DPS’ Criminal Investigations Division (CID) at (844) 643-2251.