No. Texas lists marijuana as a prohibited substance under its Controlled Substances Act and does not permit the sale of the substance in any of its jurisdictions. Hence, there are no approved businesses selling marijuana in Waco.
There are no permanent medical cannabis dispensaries in Waco. However, there is a temporary medical cannabis prescription pick-up location in the city operated as a drive-through. Although the Texas Compassionate Use Act legalized the use of low-THC cannabis for qualifying patients, no cannabis establishments exist in Waco selling low-THC cannabis products to residents.
You may purchase medical cannabis online from a Texas-approved dispensary selling to buyers located in Waco. While no medical weed dispensary is located in the city, one of the approved dispensaries in the state operates a drive-through allowing Waco residents to pick up their orders after purchasing online. The dispensing facility can also deliver medical cannabis orders placed online to the addresses of Waco residents.
Waco does not have permanent marijuana dispensaries. However, there is a temporary pick-up site for medicinal marijuana operating in the city where Waco residents may fill their medical cannabis prescriptions. At the temporary location, residents will be required to present their valid government-issued IDs, medical cannabis prescriptions, and cash to buy low-THC cannabis products.
Waco does not have any legal marijuana dispensaries. However, temporary medical cannabis prescription pick-up locations in the city may only be set up by entities that have obtained valid licenses from the Texas Department of Safety. Such dispensing facilities must also ensure that only Texas residents enrolled in the Texas Compassionate Use Registry (CURT) fill their medical cannabis prescriptions on their premises. Temporary pick-up sites may only dispense low-THC cannabis, that is, cannabis products containing no more than 1% THC by weight. They may not sell more low-THC cannabis products than the stated limits on buyers' prescriptions or allow buyers or anyone to consume cannabis on their premises.
Waco recreational cannabis laws are the same as Texas laws. Although Section 12.22 of the state penal code decriminalizes the possession of small amounts of cannabis, cannabis possession of any amount is still illegal. Per Texas' decriminalization law, possession of cannabis of up to 4 ounces is considered a misdemeanor. Persons caught with 2 ounces or less of the substance will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor which may be punished by up to six months imprisonment in a county jail, a fine of $2,000, or both. Possession of between 2 and 4 ounces is categorized as a Class A misdemeanor which may be punished by up to 12 months imprisonment in a county jail, a fine of $4,000, or both. It is a state felony if you are found with more than 4 ounces of cannabis. An individual may also be charged with DUI if caught driving under the influence of cannabis. Also, it is illegal to possess marijuana of any amount on federal property or land.
Medical cannabis is legal in Waco in limited circumstances. Pursuant to the Texas Compassionate Use Program established under the Texas Compassionate Use Act, Waco residents with a variety of health conditions, such as cancer, autism, PTSD, and epilepsy, can access low-THC cannabis. The Cannabis Sativa L plant is the source of the low-THC variety. Low-THC refers to any portion of the plant or its resultant chemicals, salts, resins, oils, or derivatives with a concentration of THC less than 0.5% by weight. This includes the plant itself. The medical use of these medications is restricted to swallowing the prescribed dose of low-THC cannabis oil rather than smoking it. Note that HB1535, which went into effect in September 2021, raised the cap on THC levels from 0.5% to 1%.
To access medical cannabis in Waco, you must be registered with the Texas Compassionate Use Program (TCUP) and obtain a valid prescription from a healthcare professional authorized under the TCUP. Before you may be issued a medical cannabis prescription, you will be required to enroll in the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT). CURT registrations are only permitted for permanent Waco residents or residents of other Texas jurisdictions. Medical cannabis possession limits are included on the prescriptions issued by approved physicians. Out-of-state patients cannot buy medical cannabis legally in Waco even if they possess medical marijuana cards from their home states.
Medical cannabis is available to both adults and minors in Waco. However, Waco minors who have qualifying conditions may require the assistance of their parents or guardians to enroll in the CURT, obtain medical cannabis prescriptions, and fill the prescriptions. Medical cannabis consumption is recommended on private properties. The Texas medical cannabis law does not have provisions for protecting CURT-registered patients who use cannabis in workplaces. Hence, a Waco employer may discipline or terminate an employee for medical cannabis use on or off the job. It is illegal to grow cannabis at home for personal medical use and prohibited from driving a vehicle while under the influence of medical cannabis.
You cannot get a medical marijuana card in Waco as the state does not issue medical marijuana cards under the Texas Compassionate Use Program. Waco residents only need medical marijuana prescriptions upon enrolling in the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) to purchase low-THC cannabis products.
To enroll in the CURT, you must reside in Waco or have a permanent Texas address and have one or more approved qualifying conditions. The Texas Compassionate Use Program approves these conditions for low-THC cannabis use:
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
Note that only prescriptions obtained from approved healthcare professionals are valid. To ensure your physician is approved under the TCUP, schedule a consultation with any of the healthcare providers indexed on the list of state-approved physicians maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Before the physician may enter your information in the CURT, the practitioner must affirm that the merits of using cannabis for medical purposes outweigh any hazards. Although there is no state-mandated fee for CURT registration, the certifying physician may charge a consultation fee for determining medical cannabis eligibility and issuing a certification. After adding your information to the registry, the physician will submit your prescription to the CURT.
You may use the prescriptions to obtain medical cannabis from Texas-approved dispensaries. Identification, including your full name, age, and the last few digits of your Social Security number, will be required at the temporary pick-up site in Waco. If you are under 18 and have a legal guardian, your certifying physician will also put the legal guardian's or caregiver's name in the CURT. When purchasing medical cannabis for a minor, the guardian or caregiver must also present an ID at the prescription pick-up site.
It is illegal to ingest, smoke, or consume adult-use cannabis in any form in all locations in Waco. Medicinal cannabis use may be used in private residences and properties owned by the customers but not in public places.
You can only purchase medical cannabis from online dispensaries serving Waco locations. You cannot visit a permanent dispensary to purchase adult-use or medical cannabis. You may order medical cannabis online and pick up your order at a temporary pick-up location in the city. Before you may be permitted to receive your order, you must show a valid ID card and a Texas-issued medical cannabis prescription.
The following are typical low-THC product prices sold to Waco residents:
1:1 balanced gummies: $80 (30-count)
1:1 balanced tincture: $90
20:1 high-CBD tincture: $200
3:1 balanced tincture: $90
Only marijuana products with low-THC contents are sold in Waco as Texas law prohibits the sale of popular strains like Tahoe OG, Blueberry Dream, Afghan Poison, and Durban Poison because of their high concentrations of THC. Low-THC products are typically made from hemp and cannabidiol, which do not have high amounts of THC content.
No. It is illegal to smoke recreational or medical cannabis in public in Waco.
Patients in Waco enrolled with the CURT are only allowed the quantities of cannabis stipulated on their prescriptions. In accordance with the Compassionate Use Act of Texas, there are no minimum or maximum possession limitations, but only what the physician prescribes.
No. The transportation of cannabis over state lines is unlawful as it violates federal law. Regardless of your reasons for cannabis use (recreational or medical), shipping it across state lines is a felony offense.
You cannot order adult-use weed online in Waco, as there are no dispensaries in the city. However, if registered in the CURT, you can order low-THC cannabis online from Texas Original and pick it up from the drive-through dispensing service the business offers.
No. There are no 24-hour dispensaries in Waco.
No. Tourists cannot use dispensaries in Waco as there are no dispensaries there. While a drive-through temporary dispensing site operates in the city for registered medical cannabis users, it is not accessible to tourists.
There are no dispensaries in the city. However, a temporary dispensing site in the city allows CURT-registered Waco patients to pick up their orders. When visiting the temporary location, you must bring a government-issued card to verify your identity and a valid medical cannabis prescription issued by a TCUP physician.
Texas Original Compassionate Cultivation is the online approved medical cannabis dispensary offering temporary dispensing sites in the city.
The only temporary medical cannabis dispensing site in Waco scans customers’ IDs to ensure sales are only made to CURT-registered individuals.
Only one medical dispensing site exists in Waco. The site is a temporary facility and does not currently operate daily. The facility dispensaries only low-THC cannabis to CURT-registered patients.
No. Credit cards are not accepted for cannabis purchases. Cash is the preferred means of paying for low-THC cannabis products.
Although there are no restrictions in state and local laws limiting the number of dispensaries that may be visited in one day, only one temporary medical cannabis dispensing site exists in the city. Therefore, you can only visit one dispensary in the city.
No. Waco’s temporary cannabis dispensing site does not accept health insurance to cover medical cannabis purchases. Health insurance entities operate pursuant to federal laws, which still list cannabis as a prohibited drug with no accepted health benefits. Therefore, health insurance policies do not include provisions for cannabis purchases.
Waco's drive-through temporary site for dispensing medical cannabis tracks how much weed buyers purchase. Sales are tracked in compliance with state law to ensure buyers do not exceed the possession limits included on their medical cannabis prescriptions.
You can visit the temporary medical cannabis dispensing location in Waco to pick up your prescription if you are 18 or older and enrolled in the CURT. However, if you are under 18, you may need the help of a caregiver, such as your parent or legal guardian, to access low-THC cannabis products.
Cannabis activities in Waco are administered by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). The Texas DPS is located at:
Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 North Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78752-4431
The DPS mailing address is:
PO Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0001
You may report illegal cannabis operations in Waco to the Texas Department of Safety or the Waco Police Department by contacting the police department at (254) 750-7500. To file a report to the Texas Department of Safety, call the Department's Criminal Investigations Division at (844) 643-2251.