No. In Abilene, the sale of recreational marijuana is prohibited because cannabis is classified as a controlled substance under the state Controlled Substances Act. This means it is illegal to sell cannabis for adult use, and no businesses or individuals are permitted to operate a cannabis dispensary selling adult-use marijuana in Abilene.
No. None of Texas’ three approved cannabis dispensaries are located in the City of Abilene.
As a registered medical cannabis patient in Abilene, you can order low-THC cannabis online from one of Texas' approved dispensaries. However, these dispensaries are not located within the city limits of Abilene.
There are currently no marijuana dispensaries located within the city limits of Abilene. However, mobile dispensaries sometimes operate in the city, allowing residents to fill their prescriptions. In order to pick up orders from these temporary dispensary sites, you need a government-issued ID, a prescription for low-THC cannabis, and cash. Note that the availability of these temporary dispensary sites is not guaranteed and may vary over time.
There are currently no permanent marijuana dispensaries located in Abilene. However, any of the three authorized cannabis dispensaries in Texas may set up temporary dispensary sites in the city, as in other parts of the state. These temporary dispensaries are authorized to sell low-THC cannabis products to individuals with valid prescriptions for medical cannabis.
If a temporary dispensary site becomes available in Abilene, it must operate in accordance with Texas dispensary laws. This includes selling cannabis products only to individuals with valid medical cannabis prescriptions issued by qualified Texas healthcare practitioners, limiting the amount of cannabis products sold to the amount specified on the prescription, and prohibiting the consumption of cannabis on the premises of the dispensary. Dispensaries are also required to enter all sales into the Texas Compassionate Use Registry.
Recreational marijuana is currently illegal in Texas. Under Texas law, marijuana is classified as a controlled substance, and it is unlawful to possess, use, or sell marijuana for non-medical purposes.
Possession of small amounts of marijuana has been decriminalized to some extent in Abilene pursuant to Texas laws. According to Chapter 12.22 of the Texas Penal Code, possession of four ounces or less of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor offense. If an Abilene resident is caught with up to 2 ounces of marijuana, it is regarded as a Class A misdemeanor, carrying a maximum penalty of one year in prison, a $4,000 fine, or both. Possession of between 2 and 4 ounces of cannabis is considered a Class B misdemeanor, carrying a maximum penalty of 180 days in prison, a $2,000 fine, or both.
However, it is important to note that possession of any amount of marijuana is still considered a criminal offense in Texas, and the punishment for marijuana possession can vary depending on the circumstances of the case. Factors that can affect the punishment for marijuana possession include the amount of marijuana discovered in the individual's possession, the purpose of the possession (such as for sale or personal use), and the individual's criminal history.
Medical cannabis laws in Abilene are governed by the Texas Compassionate Use Act, which was passed in 2015. The Act allows for the possession and use of low-THC cannabis products by persons with certain qualifying medical conditions. Low-THC cannabis products contain low concentration levels (no more than 1%) of the psychoactive compound THC. To legally use medical cannabis in Abilene, residents must be enrolled in the state medical cannabis program -The Texas Compassionate Use Program (TCUP).
To be eligible for enrollment in the TCUP, individuals must be diagnosed with one or more of a limited number of qualifying conditions, such as epilepsy, incurable neurodegenerative diseases, spasticity, or multiple sclerosis. They must also be registered with the Texas Compassionate Use Registry (CURT), which is maintained by the DPS. To obtain a valid registration, individuals must first consult with licensed Texas physicians and receive written certifications that they have qualifying medical conditions. The physicians must then register them in the CURT.
Once an individual is registered with the Texas Compassionate Use Registry, they can purchase low-THC cannabis products from one of Texas' three approved cannabis dispensaries. The dispensaries are licensed by the state and are the only sources of legal, medical cannabis in Texas. Individuals must present valid government-issued ID cards and prescriptions to purchase low-THC cannabis products. It is illegal to consume medical cannabis in public and to operate a vehicle while under the influence of cannabis in Abilene. Medical marijuana patients in the city are also prohibited from cultivating cannabis plants at their residences.
Residents of Abilene are not required to obtain a registry identification card in order to access medical cannabis under the Texas Compassionate Use Program (TCUP). Instead, a valid prescription from an authorized healthcare practitioner is sufficient to purchase low-THC cannabis products from any of the state's licensed dispensaries. However, in order to receive a prescription for medical cannabis, you must first be registered with the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT).
To be eligible for a CURT registration, you must be diagnosed with at least one of following qualifying medical conditions:
Incurable neurodegenerative diseases
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
Your medical marijuana certification must be issued by a healthcare provider approved under the TCUP. The state maintains a list of approved physicians qualified to issue medical cannabis certifications. Per Texas law, the physician must ascertain that the benefit of medical marijuana use outweighs the possible risks before issuing you a medical cannabis certification.
Although the state does not charge patients for inclusion in the CURT, the certifying physician may charge for the consultation. After entering your details into the registry, your certifying physician will issue you a prescription for low-THC cannabis and include the prescription in the CURT. Although there are no age limitations for participating in the CURT, Abilene residents under the age of 18 may require the assistance of their parents and legal guardians to obtain low-THC cannabis prescriptions and purchase medical cannabis.
The recreational use of marijuana is prohibited everywhere in Abilene. To use cannabis for medical reasons in private homes and properties, the user must be added to the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas and have a valid prescription for medical cannabis from a Texas-licensed physician. It is illegal to use medical cannabis in public places in Abilene.
Currently, it is not possible to buy cannabis from Abilene dispensaries because there are no businesses in the city selling cannabis. However, if a Texas-approved dispensary sets up a temporary prescription pick-up site or mobile dispensary in the city, you must have a valid government-issued ID with your date of birth and a valid prescription for medical cannabis ready to make a purchase. To find out if there are mobile dispensaries or temporary prescription pick-up sites in the city, search online using the phrase "cannabis dispensaries near me."
Although there are no dispensaries located in the city, Abilene residents typically purchase 1:1 lozenges for $30, 1:1 gummies for $60, and 4:1 tincture oils for $80 from Texas-licensed dispensaries.
Under state law, registered medical cannabis patients in the City of Abilene cannot purchase cannabis strains containing high concentration levels of THC. Texas law only permits approved dispensaries to sell cannabis strains containing no more than 1% THC. Most of the low-THC cannabis products sold to Abilene residents are made from hemp.
No. You cannot smoke or vape cannabis in public areas or locations in the city, as cannabis smoking is prohibited in the city.
Patients enrolled in the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas who have valid low-THC cannabis prescriptions are limited to purchasing the specific amount of low-THC cannabis products stated on their prescriptions. This means they cannot purchase more cannabis products than the specified amount of cannabis products from any of Texas' three licensed cannabis dispensaries.
No. It is illegal to ship cannabis across state lines, as it is considered a controlled substance under federal law. This means it is unlawful to ship cannabis from one state to another, even if both states have legalized marijuana. Violations of federal drug trafficking laws can result in severe criminal penalties, including fines and imprisonment.
If you are registered in the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) and have a valid prescription for medical cannabis from a licensed physician in Texas, you can purchase low-THC cannabis products online from one of the state's three approved cannabis dispensaries. Under the Texas Compassionate Use Program (TCUP), only individuals with valid medical cannabis prescriptions from licensed Texas healthcare practitioners are eligible to purchase low-THC cannabis products from state-licensed dispensaries.
No. There are no 24-hour dispensaries in Abilene.
No. Tourists cannot use dispensaries in Abilene as there are no dispensaries there.
You need a medical cannabis prescription issued by a TCUP-certified physician and a government-issued ID to purchase low-THC cannabis products from one of the state's three approved cannabis dispensaries. The ID must have your name, age, and the last five digits of your Social Security number.
Note that the Texas Compassionate Use Program (TCUP) does not recognize medical marijuana cards from other states. Therefore, visitors in Abilene cannot purchase medical cannabis, even if they have a valid medical marijuana card from their home state.
There are no dispensaries in Abilene.
There are no permanent dispensaries in Abilene. However, temporary prescription pick-up sites in the city will scan buyers’ IDs in order to verify their identity and confirm that they are registered in the CURT and have a valid prescription for medical cannabis. This helps to ensure that only individuals who have been approved by licensed healthcare practitioners to use medical cannabis are able to purchase these products.
There are no marijuana dispensaries located in the City of Abilene.
Marijuana dispensaries selling low-THC cannabis to Abilene residents online do not typically permit buyers to pay for their purchases using credit cards. Cash is usually the preferred mode of payment.
Abilene does not have any permanent dispensaries operating within its borders. However, if the three Texas-approved dispensaries set up temporary or mobile dispensing sites in the city, you may visit them all in a single day to pick up your orders. Note that you cannot buy more cannabis than is specified on your prescription.
Dispensaries selling low-THC cannabis products to Abilene residents do not take health insurance.
Although Abilene does not have dispensaries, medicinal marijuana dispensaries selling medical cannabis to residents of the city use the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas to monitor medical pot transactions.
Although there are currently no dispensaries located in the city, Abilene residents under the age of 18 who want to visit mobile prescription pick-up locations in the city will need the assistance of their parents or legal guardians. Residents above the age of 18 may attend pickup locations without help.
Cannabis activities in Abilene are regulated by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS). The Texas DPS is located at:
Texas Department of Public Safety
5805 North Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78752-4431
The Texas DPS mailing address is:
PO Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0001
You may report illegal cannabis operations in Abilene to the Texas Department of Safety or the Abilene Police Department by calling the police department at (325) 673-8331. To report illegal cannabis activities to the Texas Department of Safety, contact the Department's Criminal Investigations Division by calling (844) 643-2251.